8 Interesting Facts About The Nobel Prizes

For years Nobel Prizes are the highest grade that an innovative mind can earn in the spheres of medicine or physiology, literature, chemistry, physics, and peace.
The laureates of prestigious distinctions are people who have conducted impressive research activities or developed methods that have contributed to the development of society.
And although every year both the awards themselves and their media enjoy a serious media interest, some things remain outside of our knowledge.
The nominations and the materials related to the discussion, the motives and the choice of the laureates to be kept secret for 50 years are accepted.
I will present to you 8 interesting facts about the Nobel awards.

1. Nobel’s legacy
Alfred Nobel is a chemist, engineer, and entrepreneur, inventor of the dynamite.
In his lifetime he was known for his kindness and responsiveness, with his charitable activities and his great heart.
One morning in 1888, Nobel was amazed by the fact of seeing in a French newspaper his obituary with the title “The Merchant of Death is dead”.
The error was that the deceased was Alfred’s brother Ludvig. The article, however, causes serious turmoil.
Nobel was shocked by what he had read and decided to do something to not be remembered as the inventor of weapons of mass destruction.
The rest of his life Alfred spends alone and in reflections on how he will be remembered.
Reading his obituary, he’s disgusted to see his public image. For Alfred, this obituary is a warning.
This unfortunate event inspires him to make changes in his own will, to improve his public image and to be remembered for a good cause.
In 1895, a year before he died, Alfred Nobel wrote his last Testament, which donated most of his property and money to the formation of the Nobel awards, initially 5 in number.

2. The flip side of the medal
The main inscription on one side of the medal for the Nobel awards for Physics, chemistry, medicine or physiology and literature reads:
“Inventas Vitam Iuvat Excoluisse Per Artes” (It is beneficial to have improved human life through discovered art).
Given its importance and severity, with a different inscription is only the Nobel Peace Prize medal, which in Latin states: “Pro pace et fraternities Gentium” (For peace and fraternity among peoples).

3. Times and manners
Often, there is a significant delay between the time when the scientist makes an invention worthy of the Nobel Prize and its receipt.
The period varies from 20 to 30 years depending on the category and sometimes the wait is even longer.
In 1966, Francis Peyton Rous received the Medicine/Physiology award for her work on viruses that could cause tumors.
The discovery was based on the studies made at the beginning of the same century, which made a difference of nearly 50 years.
The opposite was observed – in 1957, Yang Chen-Ning and Tsung-Dao Lee received their work on the law of the laws of physics. A discovery made only a year earlier.

4. Who and how much?
From 1901 to 2017, 585 Nobel awards were awarded to over 900 laureates.
After making an account that some of the laureates receive a prize more than once, and other prizes are shared, this makes a total of 870 people.
Among them, 822 are men, and only 48 – women. 23 organizations are awarded.
The prize cannot be shared between more than three people, but there are no restrictions on the prizes that a person can win over the years, which sounds motivating for every young mind.

5. Young and old
The average age of the Nobel Prize laureates for all categories is 59, and the age category with the most distinctions is between 60 and 64.
The oldest winner of the prize is currently the 90-year-old American Leonid Hurwicz, who won the Nobel Prize for Economics in 2007.
The youngest laureate is Malala Yousafzai, a Pakistani activist for the education of children. She won the Peace Prize in 2014 when she was only 17.

6. The Spheres
Among each of the Nobel spheres, there are partitions, which are the most emphasized or the most inventions are excelling.
The most common among physicists is the science of elementary particles, for chemistry laboratories is biochemistry, for medical laureates it is genetics, and for laureates in economic sciences, it is macroeconomics.
Most of the laureates write prose.

7. Rejected Awards
And although for almost all the scholars the Nobel Prize is among the goals they set, some refuse to accept it.
Jean-Paul Sartre awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature, rejected the prize because he consistently refused all the official distinctions with the explanation that “A writer should not allow himself to become an


One Response

  1. froleprotrem May 19, 2020

Add Comment